Cold and Breezy


 

s21

It’s 2.30 in the morning. The first bus trip home leaves in 30 minutes. I hastily packed my bag, went down the hotel lobby and informed the receptionist that I’m already checking out. “OK na sir”, she said. She knew that I paid for the room upon checking in.

When I opened the door, the familiar, nostalgia-inducing December morning breeze greeted me. A few college students are still sitting – half awake and probably nursing a hangover –  on vacant chairs spread outside a café in front of the hotel. This is a popular night spot. I hailed a taxi and told the driver ” terminal pa -Antique, nong”. I should arrive home by 7:30 in the morning. It’s already December 24.

I sat comfortably knowing that I have not left anything in the hotel – unlike the person who booked the room before I did. The item? A lacy, pink underwear hanging happy and contented behind the bathroom door. I first saw it through the mirror and for half a second judged it as an abstract Christmas decor (if there’s such a thing.haha).

At the back of my mind, I was a little worried that the morning before I arrived, someone went home cold . So I informed housekeeping about it. The apologetic housekeeping staff took the half-rolled lacy garment and gingerly placed it in the garbage compartment of her cleaning cart.

It must have been cold….and breezy, I thought.

Just like when I opened the hotel door a while ago.

This entry was posted in Philippines and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

share a theory

