Chasing Dreams and Sunrise: Two Mornings at San Juanico


IMG_2283BW copy

Looking outside the plane window made me realize I won’t make it to the bridge before sunrise. It was only 5:35 am but the golden disc is already rising from the sea.

I first saw San Juanico Bridge as a child on one of my mom’s photos taken during the late 70s; and hearing from her how it was the country’s longest bridge spanning two islands made me wish that I too, could visit one day. To my seven-year old mind, the bridge represented aspiration and wonder.

I became more impressed with the project when I learned from my third grade Sibika at Kultura class that this “magandang tanawin” was intended to become a “tulay ng pag-unlad” or bridge of economic progress.

Well, as it turns out, some dreams, like setting foot at San Juanico bridge, take 20-plus years to fulfill – for others, as in the case of economic progress for Eastern Visayas*, even longer.

I hope this will come sooner than later. It’s time we allow San Juanico Bridge to become more than just a sexy, curvy, structure. I cannot wait for another 20 years.

IMG_2179 copy

IMG_2279

IMG_2202

The bridge shakes a little when huge delivery trucks pass over it. 

IMG_2267 copySome cyclists and runners  train over the bridge.

IMG_2253 copy

IMG_2256 copy

IMG_2191 copy

IMG_2178 copy

IMG_2133

*Based on the latest GDP figures, Eastern Visayas is still among the slowest growing regions in the country.

This entry was posted in Philippines, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chasing Dreams and Sunrise: Two Mornings at San Juanico

  1. James says:

    Pardon my ignorance, but is this the bridge spanning the straits between Samar and Leyte? What a graceful, beautiful structure – I love the way it curves just above the sea. 🙂

  2. Love your shots! I had always thought that pedestrians aren’t allowed there. I would definitely love to run there someday.

  3. Bama says:

    I had to google to find out where exactly that bridge is located. Did you happen to be around that area or is that your hometown? I must say it’s such a nice and beautiful bridge, and the ones in Indonesia look rather dull in appearance compared to this bridge.

    • No Bama, i’m from a neighboring island (but this is my first time to visit Samar/Leyte). Thing is, this is probably the only ‘photogenic’ bridge in the Philippines. There are some small visually pleasing bridges, but most are just concrete and steel structures than value function more than form. 🙂

  4. Dennis says:

    Like you, the textbook image of this bridge has haunted me in my younger years, when my wanderlust was but a flicker and I could only wish “when I grow up, I’d like to travel all over the Philippines”. It’s a perfect image for those who dream of traveling – unfortunately, I have yet to set foot there!

  5. gladys says:

    “*Based on the latest GDP figures, Eastern Visayas is still among the slowest growing regions in the country.”
    I also hope that it will not be 20 more years for progress in Eastern Samar. we are considering putting up business and fresh start in Tacloban City.

    Thanks callmejames007 for sharing this!

share a theory

